top of page

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Why does The Miskatonic University exist?
    Two reasons: 1. Because not everyone has the money to afford The Bible of Cthulhu. 2. To allow Cultists to climb the ranks of The Outer Circle.
  • How does this all work?
    Very simply! 1. Enrol 2. Start a course 3. Sit the exam 4. Pass and move up a rank
  • Do I need a copy of The Bible of Cthulhu to complete lessons?
    No. While it certainly helps to have the complete summation of our teachings in the palm of your hand, the point of The Miskatonic University is to serve as a completely free alternative to The Bible of Cthulhu, allowing anyone to learn everything they need in order to understand and join The Cult of Cthulhu.
  • How much does this all cost?
    Nothing. The Miskatonic University is completely free. Always has been, always will be. There are no hidden costs or associated fees at any point of any kind.
  • Are there any costs for courses, grading, certificates, etc?"
    No. The Miskatonic University is completely free. Its very existence is to act as a free alternative to The Bible of Cthulhu, and to allow members to climb the ranks of The Outer Circle. You will never have to pay to be a cultist.
  • Who are The Harbingers of Hastur?
    The Harbingers of Hastur can be seen as The Miskatonic University's "sports team". They are an elite group of occult athletes, dedicated to The Great Work and bringing pride to The Cult of Cthulhu. Everyone has the opportunity to join their illustrious ranks and make their mark on this planet.
  • How do I join The Harbingers?
    Simply by clicking here.
  • Why can't I access the Exam?
    You need to create an account and be signed in in order to sit any exams.
  • Why can't I access certain lessons?
    You must complete and pass the exam for the previous Tier before the next Tier opens up to you. Ie: Tier 2 will be closed until you have passed the exam for Tier 1. Please read your success email carefully to learn more.
  • How long do I have to wait before I can move up a rank?
    The waiting time between each tier varies. You will be advised at the end of each exam and via email.
  • What is the Outer Circle?
    The Cult of Cthulhu is highly organized, made up of many levels. The first level for any aspiring acolyte is The Outer Circle. The Outer Circle is made up of 8 tiers. Any member of the public who identifies with our teachings is, by definition, a cultist, and many people are happy to stop their journey here. For those that wish to gain deeper knowledge and prestige, the Outer Circle allows them to move up the ranks and gain the respect, perks, and knowledge associated with each tier. Once the Outer Circle is accomplished (by achieving rank of ELDER) the Inner Circle will be in touch directly.
  • When do I learn how to Void Meditate?
    Basic Void Meditation is discussed in Tier II. Advanced Void Meditation in Tier III.
  • When do I get my Veiled Appellation?
    Tier III: Ascendant.
bottom of page